It has never done this before, so it is kinda freaking me out. Could someone else download one or the other and tell me if they are getting the same thing?
The links I am downloading from:
http://www.frostwire.com/
http://www.shareaza.com/
Related posts:








4 responses so far ↓
1 Brian F // May 20, 2008
Maybe it is infected, or there is a false-positive.
Try an online scan at http://www.eset.com/onlinescan
2 Steve G // May 20, 2008
duh…no.
What do you think the AV is supposed to do?
3 ShastaX // May 20, 2008
Avast may have downloaded an update that looks at certain P2P networking programs as being worms or some kind of virus because of its ability to make multiple connections inbount and outbound. If the programs you are using are from the site they should be downloaded from they are most likely fine and you can tell your AV to ignore that error.
4 rossmart34 // May 20, 2008
Yeah it could be a false positive.
Download it and check..?
I use Avast myself and trust it. A false positive is better than a no detection/infection…I can live with false positives.
Avast has the p2p scanner because it checks all things coming from them.
A lot of people have been having issues with Limewire being faulty lately; Frostwire is basically Limewire. Maybe avast is picking up on an error and warning you as if it were a mal-formed packet of info; the way it does when a flash item has been altered to "dump" and infect.
I don't even let those things on my machine…otherwise I'd download and check.
Why not use the download helper for Fire Fox? Watch my video on my profile, the last one.
Leave a Comment